History of the International Dostoevsky Society

Nearly fifty years ago, in different countries around the world, pioneering groups of scholars started to form national Dostoevsky societies and saw it as their goal to unite them. In 1968, during the VI International Congress of Slavists in Prague, on the initiative of Professor Dmitry S. Grishin of Melbourne University, a small group of scholars gathered and formed an organizational committee for the establishment of the International Dostoevsky Society. Over the next three years, the committee organized a founding symposium, which took place in Bad Ems in Germany September 1–5, 1971 in advance of the 150th anniversary of the author's birth. Professors Nadine Natov, Dmitry S. Grishin, Rudolf Neuhäuser, and Reinhard Lauth took on the great task of organizing it.

Those who took part in the work of the founding Symposium included Dmitry S. Grishin (Australia), Robert L. Jackson (USA), Mihai Novicov (Romania), Georges Florovskii (USA), Horst-Jürgen Gerigk (FRG), Malcolm V. Jones (Great Britain), Joseph Frank (USA), Jacques Catteau (France), Dmitry Grigorieff (USA), Olga von Falz-Fein (France), René Girard (USA), Jan M. Meijer (Netherlands), Rudolf Neuhäuser (Canada), Reinhard Lauth (FRG), Nadine Natov (USA), Nikolai V. Pervushin (Canada), Prince Aleksei Gedroits (Belgium), Temira Pachmuss (USA), Tatiana Nikolescu (Romania), Vladimir Seduro (USA), Jan van der Eng (Netherlands), Louis Allain (France), Dominique Arban (France), Wolf Schmid (FRG), Nils Åke Nilsson (Sweden), Leonid Rzhevsky (USA), Nina Kaucisvili (Italy), Frank Friedeberg Seeley (USA), and many other prominent scholars.

On September 2, 1971, the Charter of the International Dostoevsky Society was accepted, and from this day the official history of IDS began. The goals of the society were defined as: the study of the life and works of Dostoevsky; scholarship and public outreach; the convening of an annual international conference; and the publication of a newsletter, the *Bulletin of the International Dostoevsky Society*, which, in 1980, was transformed into a yearly journal named *Dostoevsky Studies: Journal of the International Dostoevsky Society*.

The first President of IDS was Nils Åke Nilsson (Stockholm), the first Vice-Presidents were Dmitry S. Grishin (Melbourne), Robert L. Jackson (USA), Reinhard Lauth (Munich), and Mihai Novicov (Bucharest); the executive secretary was Nadine Natov (USA), the editor of the IDS *Bulletin* was Rudolf Neuhäuser (Canada). Professor Natov served as IDS Executive Secretary and guiding spirit from 1971–93. Professor Neuhäuser served as Managing Editor of the IDS *Bulletin* and then the journal from 1971-89 and remained a Managing Editor from 1998-2018.

In 1977, Robert L. Jackson was elected the next president at the III Symposium. Over the following years, the presidents were: Michel Cadot, elected in 1983; Rudolf Neuhäuser, elected in 1989; Malcolm V. Jones, elected in 1995; Horst-Jürgen Gerigk, elected in 1998; Ulrich Schmid, elected in 2004; Deborah Martinsen, elected in 2007; and Vladimir Zakharov, elected in 2013. At various times, the title of Honorary President was conferred upon the leading scholars Rene Wellek (USA), Georgii Fridlender (Russia), Dmitrii Likhachev (Russia), Nadine Natov

(USA), and Robert L. Belknap (USA). The current honorary presidents are: Michel Cadot (France), Robert L. Jackson (USA), Malcolm V. Jones (Great Britain), Horst-Jürgen Gerigk (Germany), Deborah A. Martinsen (USA), Rudolf Neuhäuser (Austria), Ulrich Schmid (Switzerland), and Vladimir N. Zakharov (Russia).

After the 1971 International Dostoevsky Society Symposium in Bad Ems, Germany, Symposia have taken place every three years in countries whose scholars participate in the IDS: St. Wolfgang, Austria, 1974; Rungsted, Denmark, 1977; Bergamo, Italy, 1980; Cerisy-la-Salle, France, 1983; Nottingham, England, 1986; Ljubljana, Yugoslavia, 1989; Oslo, Norway, 1992; Gaming, Austria, 1995; New York, USA, 1998; Baden-Baden, Germany, 2001; Geneva, Switzerland, 2004; Budapest, Hungary, 2007; Napoli, Italy, 2010; Moscow, Russia, 2013; Granada, Spain, 2016, Boston, USA, 2019. The XVIIIth IDS Symposium is scheduled to take place in Nagoya, Japan in 2022.

The 1986 Symposium in Nottingham, England was the first at which a Russian scholar, Georgii Mikhailovich Fridlender, was given permission to travel abroad to participate in an IDS Symposium.

The Japanese Dostoevsky Society was the first Dostoevsky society: it was founded in February 1969 and joined the IDS in April 1975. The North American Dostoevsky Society (NADS) was founded in December 1970 and joined the IDS in 1971. Its first President was Robert Louis Jackson, its first Vice-Presidents were Rudolf Neuhäuser, Victor Terras, and Vladimir Seduro. The NADS first Executive Secretary was Nadine Natov, who served from 1970–1998, while simultaneously serving as IDS Executive Secretary from 1970–93.